Hello world!


Deep breath……

This is my first blog, and my first blog post. Believe it or not, I honestly feel a little nervous! I remember getting my first diary when I was young and looking SO forward to writing my thoughts, ideas, feelings…until I actually wrote on the first crisp, clean white page. What should I say? What if I didn’t like what I wrote? What if someone read it?! Needless to say, it was probably two months before I’d drafted, edited, and formatted my first diary entry. 🙂

I’ve always loved to read and to write, but I’m also overly critical of my “voice” and much too often would “edit” my writing to reflect what I thought someone else would want it to be. Even in my personal, private writings. So those pretty diaries and journals would sit, collecting dust, instead of collecting my voice. In the past year, a lot of major events have occurred in my life and I think some of these events were the catalyst to my beginning this blog.

I’ve also been spending a lot of time latey reading and researching minimalist living. Some of my favorite sites so far are:

Far Beyond the Stars

Man vs. Debt

RowdyKittens

In a lot of ways, I’ve alway been a minimalist at heart, but sometimes I’ve let life (or those in my life) change my focus. And being frugal (is that word still acceptable?!) comes easily for me. For one, I’m of Scottish hertiage and we Scots do not like to part with our hard earned cash. Secondly, I’ve always felt confined by having too much stuff. I recently moved into a new apartment, and in the process, began a serious campagain against “stuff”. I’ve given away bags of clothes, shoes, furniture …. all in the hopes of being able to own less than 100 things by December 31, 2010. The feeling of relief and freedom from having less stuff is a very motivating and powerful. If your interested in reading more about the 100 Thing Challenge, read this:

100 Thing Challenge

So a little about me:

My name is Deb.  My life is changing in dramatic and exciting ways. I currently work as an Executive Assistant to the Director of a locally owned municipal utilites company.  And while I do enjoy what I do (for a living), I can’t say I love my job.  I mean, really?  Who LOVES a job? I enjoy what I do, and where I work….but what I love is freedom, time to pursue the things I truly enjoy and care about.  So I’ve embarked on this Journey to Life.  My hope (no, my focus) is to really begin to LIVE –  by living a minimalist lifestyle and creating a small online business by August 1, 2011 in order to leave the World of the Cubicles and begin truly LIVING MY LIFE. 🙂

Until next time,

WinkBlu

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

